Salvation is of God

Let me begin this post with the assertion that I do not pretend to fully understand what I am about to talk about. I have not done a good enough job studying scripture to present this as biblical truth. Instead what I am asking is those that read this post and have studied the bible to respond with biblical truth to back them up. Not logic or human emotion but pure biblical truth.

As I search for the truth the bible presents many times I arrive at a place where it is unclear to me what is the truth. But I feel thru searching for the truth and studying that some day I will understand these concepts in light of biblical truth. I can only hope God shows me the truth sooner rather than later.

Now to the topic I would like to consider, salvation. I can point back to a time in my life when a 6 year old boy prayed a prayer and felt that he asked Jesus to come into his heart. My dilemma then is was that God drawing me to him at a young age or was it my fear of going to hell. I understood minutely who Jesus was but the bible says even the demons believe in Jesus. Was this moment a God ordained event or was in human fear, the desire for comfort.

I feel like that moment was not the moment I was saved because at that point I did not have real faith in my life. It wasn’t until many years later that faith became part of my life. At the age of 16 I surrender my life to God to use how he saw fit. It is my belief that he wants me to be a preacher. At that time in my life my faith became real to me. It was not about something I learned in Sunday school but was about serving my God.

When I was in college my faith was tested by searching scripture. Mather were thing I once believe I began to question such as the “pray this prayer” to be saved mentally the church has adopted which is not necessarily presented in the gospel.

When people asked Jesus what they had to do to be saved more often than not he told them to do something. Let me be very clear with this point I do not believe there is anything we can do to earn our salvation. My point here is there can be no true faith without action accompanying it.

So Is it a moment in time, a process, or is it when you truly give your all to God in an act of faith. The bible teaches in my opinion that to follow Jesus we have to die to ourselves, our own logic, desires, and our own will.

Leave a comment