Higher Education

I am nearing the end of my journey here at Henderson State University. I will graduate this coming May with a Bachelor of Science in General Studies. One question nags at me as I approach my graduation day, What have I really learned here in my four years here? Have you ever stopped and took an honest assessment of the quality of education here in America, specifically at our Universities? I think everyone one of us should stop and ponder this question because the price of education continues to rise.

I can honestly say I have not learned anything of any real significance. I think I could have saved the past four years of my education and just stayed home and watch the History and Discovery Channels and learned more than I have here. This bothers me greatly. I can already see some peoples minds at work thinking, “Cole you would have learned a lot more if you would have just went to class.” Let me put a stop to that right now. I have talked to many students from many different majors who all agree they have not learned anything. These people go to class and study and have come away saying they have learned nothing.

For the price we pay for our education we should be getting so much more. I will graduate with substantial student loans but did I get my money’s worth? Is the quality of education really worth that much? Let me share with you some of my experiences.

I am currently sitting in a class where my teacher is using an overhead projector and an old school slide projector in his lecture. I took a couple of classes with one professor that all I had to literally do to pass the class was click on a few hyperlinks on angel. Henderson offers classes like Wii Sports and Fitness and Camp and Outdoor Education. Teachers in the teachers college tell you that you should not give out busy work and you should do this or that as a great educator yet I have seen very few follow their own advice.
The few business classes I took early on were so boring you could die sitting there. How will we ever compete with the rest of the world when our professors teaching our students are so far out of touch.

We as a generation are getting the short end of the stick. Our teachers should be embracing new technology, implementing it in the class rooms, instead they ban computers and cell phone from their classes. We will never improve our education system until our teachers let go of the past and embrace the more modern future!!!

Let me know your thoughts on this by leaving me a comment

2 Replies to “Higher Education”

  1. Greatness in blog form! One question, how can you, as a minister, implement this way of thinking? I’m falling in love with media ministry in a fast hurry. Loving every bit from social media, visual media, everything.

    Why does our generation find church boring? Because most refuse to join the 21st century. Loved the blog, Bishop!

    Like

  2. My thoughts exactly! I am writing a similar blog about the value of college education. http://amandatse.wordpress.com/ . I am also worried about the cost of college, and the years I’ve spent attending when I could’ve done other things. Attending a private school myself, sometimes I wonder if my education is really worth the 50,000 i’m paying to attend. Hopefully when you graduate you will see how college has helped you.

    Like

Leave a comment